NORTH SYDNEY COUNCIL REPORTS



Report to General Manager

Attachments: 1. Previous Winners 1992 to 2019

SUBJECT: North Sydney Council's Australia Day Community Awards 2020

AUTHOR: Jess Gledhill, Arts & Cultural Programs Officer, North Sydney Council

ENDORSED BY: Martin Ellis, Director Community and Library Services

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY:

North Sydney Council's Australia Day Community Awards will be held in conjunction with the Citizenship Ceremony on Sunday 26 January 2020. The awards will be presented by the Mayor, Jilly Gibson and the Australia Day Ambassador (to be announced). The community awards form part of the Australia Day Council awards program administered by local government.

FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS:

As Wenona School generously provides the venue (Independent Theatre) for the Australia Day Awards at no cost, the expenditure is confined to refreshments and entertainment at approximately \$2,000, plus staff costs for the day.

RECOMMENDATION:

- **1. THAT** Council supports the selection of four Australia Day Community Award Winners Citizen of the Year, Environmental Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year and Community Group/Event of the Year.
- **2. THAT** the Eligibility Criteria "*Previous award recipients cannot be nominated*" be amended to say, "*Previous award recipients within the last ten years cannot be nominated*".

LINK TO COMMUNITY STRATEGIC PLAN

The relationship with the Community Strategic Plan is as follows:

Direction: 4. Our Social Vitality

Outcome: 4.1 North Sydney is connected, inclusive, healthy and safe

4.2 North Sydney is creative and home to popular events

BACKGROUND

Three awards are issued for community contributions made in the North Sydney LGA during the previous twelve months. The award categories include:

- 1. Citizen of the Year
- 2. Environmental Citizen of the Year
- 3. Young Citizen of the Year
- 4. Community Group/Event of the Year

CONSULTATION REQUIREMENTS

Community engagement will be undertaken in accordance with Council's Community Engagement Protocol.

SUSTAINABILITY STATEMENT

The sustainability implications are of a minor nature and did not warrant a detailed assessment.

DETAIL

Thirteen nominations were received across four categories and detailed in the summary below. The nomination form for the traditional three categories was widely distributed across the community via The North Sydney Council website, social media, Stanton Library, local schools, Community Centre's and the Civic Park Notice Boards and online. The main nomination process closed on October 26, 2019.

For a second year running, the Australia Day Council was late in announcing its newly established Environmental Citizen of the Year Award. This meant there was insufficient time to call for public contributions in the same way as the original three awards. Consequently, Council staff were invited to nominate community members, with two nominations received.

Eligibility Criteria

- Nominee must be an Australian Citizen.
- While nominees need not reside in the North Sydney LGA, they must have made a significant contribution to the benefit of the North Sydney Community.
- Nominee contribution must have been made in 2019 but does not exclude cumulative years contribution made prior.

- Nominees for the Young Citizen of the Year Award must be under 24 years of age on 31 December 2019.
- Previous award recipients cannot be nominated.
- Self-nominations cannot be accepted.
- Present Council staff, Councillors and their family members can nominate, however cannot themselves be nominated.

Proposed Eligibility Criteria Amendment

Given records now stretch back to 1992 it is considered reasonable that the prohibition against award recipients receiving the honour twice be reviewed. While there is not likely to be an issue for individuals the possibility of a community group becoming deserving in two successive decades should not be discounted. It is recommended:

THAT the Eligibility Criteria "Previous award recipients cannot be nominated" be amended to say, "Previous award recipients within the last ten years cannot be nominated".

Australia Day Award Recipients 1992- 2019

Year	Citizen	Young Citizen	Community Group/ Event
2019	Laura Tilsed	Sophia Skarparis	Phoenix House Youth Services
2018	Sister Carmel McDonough RSM	N/A	Join Winners Helen & Kostas Mallikopoulos and The Uniting North Sydney Local Area Coordination Team
2017	Bryce Gunn	Alice Zhang	Community Connect Transport
2016	Michael Stevens	Sam Yu	Neutral Bay Seniors Community Centre
2015	Annette Bowman	Lexie Duncan (Loreto School)	Bushcare Community Nursery Group
2014	Scott Ehler	Ella Butler & Jisun Chang	Coal Loader Community Garden Members & The Waverton Hub
2013	Anthony Meggitt & Annette Hema	Wenona Relay for Life Teams	Crows Nest Pop up Shop Artists
2012	Dick Gall Nutcote	Sophie McIlwaine KNC	Church by the Bridge Community Carols
2011	Elsa Atkin & Barry Hanley	No nominations	Milson Community Garden & Blues Point Blues Festival
2010	Vera Yee	Oliver Godsell (SCECGS)	Monte Sant' Angelo Mercy College
2009	Sandra Bates	Jaya Keaney & Ariana Ladopoulos (NS Girls High)	North Shore Historical Society
2008	Wendy Whiteley	Don Maclurcan	North Sydney Symphony Orchestra
2007	Tim Hughes (Graythwaite)	Molly Simmons, Edie Warne, Hattie Poiner (Cammeray Public School)	Celtic Festival
2006	Joan Dunnwald	Freya Edwards-Fitzsimons (Neutral Bay PS)	Cremorne Point Precinct
2005	Jenny Thomas (Rotary)	Katie Gregory (Mosman High School)	Hayes Street Party
2004	John Griffin (Crows Nest Mainstreet)	North Sydney Boys' High Canteen Committee	Graythwaite Gardening Group
2003	Dianne Hiles –	Lindsay Sinclair -	Cammeray Fair -
2002	CHILOUT	Youth Dances	Cammeray Public School
2002	NSC Oral History Volunteer Team	Michelle Rifkin (NS Scouts)	Northside Produce Market
2001	Ruby Graham	Gordon Burns	Northside Baptist Church
2000	Carolyn & Peter Lowry	Daniel Applegate	Stanton Precinct History Project
1999	Edith Brown	May Miller Dawkins & Toni Milner (NS Girls High School)	Noodle Market
1998	Marjorie Whiffen	Page to Stage Drama Group	Crows Nest Fair
1997	Nick & Carol Dettmann	Planet X Youth Advisory Committee	No community event
1996	Nan Manefield	Lloyd Edwards	Friends of Luna Park
1995	Paul Oglesby (Access), Jess Wilkins (Precincts)	St. Mary's Primary School	No community event
1994	Grace Buckley, Grace Carey, Alan Wright	NS Police Citizens Youth Club	Stanton Library Oral History Project
1993	Cec Pearsall	Michael Carroll	Nexus Youth Group (ShellShocked)
1992	Merle & Bill Coppell, Carolyn & David Lawes, Jan & Malcolm Meyers	No Young Citizen	Primrose Park Art & Craft Centre